The National Park of the "Gran Sasso and the Laga Mountains", one of the largest in Europe with it's 150.000 hectares, extends from north to south including three regions, five districts, forty-five towns, and three mountain chains: the Gran Sasso, the Laga and the "Monti Gemelli". The Laga is a long chain of about 30 kilometres, with only one crest line; the highest peaks from north to south are Macera della Morte (2073 mts), Pizzitello (2221 mts), Pizzo di Sevo (2419 mts), Cima Lepri (2445 mts), Pizzo di Moscio (2411 mts), Monte Pelone(2256 mts), Monte Gorzano (2458 mts), Cima della Laghetta (2369 mts). These mountains unique for the characteristics of their rocks, are among the most interesting examples of beauty, variety and wideness of natural habitats, with typical Alpine features. The soil, mostly clay and gritstone, retain a high degree of humidity due to its low permeability, making of this place a very different one compared to similar areas of central Italy, generally poor of water, especially at great heights. This kind of soil, creates a very soft, grassy coat all along all the mountains surface. Rain and defrost water, especially in springtime, gathers in little streams and drains originating splendid falls, named Barche, Scalette, and Ortanza, among the most beautiful of this side. The name Laga is said to take origin from the large amount of water. Several species of animals live here chamois, roe deer, wolf, wild boar, stone-marten, weasel and hare; birds such as golden eagle, peregrine falcon, woodpecker, ring dove, sparrow and chaffinch. The flora is varied: beech and oak tree, chestnut, maple and service tree. These trees express their beauty especially in spring and summer, with impressive colors.